Series | The Lord’s Day

A pastor friend of mine who helps lead a local body on the Lord’s day typically posts the order of service on Saturday so the sheep can prepare. He titled his post a few weeks ago, “Getting ready for the Best Day of the Week.” I’ve been thinking about that ever since. The Lord’s day, the first day, is the best day of the week for Christians.

Sunday has been the center of my week for a long time, not on my calendar but in my affections. As a pastor, Sunday anchors my week. But even and especially before I was a pastor, the Lord’s day was my lifeline. It was rest from the spiritual battle. It was refreshment for my spiritual thirst. Every Sunday was a spiritual family reunion (that I actually looked forward to). It was just the best day.

I earnestly want that for every believer. And I’ve got four pieces of practical advice so that Christians would stake Sunday as second to none every week.

But before I begin publishing these pointers, let me say that I’m almost embarrassed at how rudimentary they are. They do not assume much maturity at all. Yet I am finding that many of my students (and perhaps their parents too) are not beyond a need for the obvious restated. So with that in mind, let us consider how we might regard the Lord’s day as the best day.