Prayer is an indispensable way that that we express our dependence on God during corporate worship but not the only way. We also demonstrate dependence when we attend to God’s Word, and Scripture directs our Lord’s Day service from the opening call to the final commission. There is fellowship when we hear His Word and when we respond with words of prayer. Communication renews and sustain our relationship with God week by week.

Both of these are word-based and necessary. There is at least one more act of outright dependence, and that is when we eat the bread and drink the wine.

After Jesus fed the 5,000 men with five barley loaves and two fish, the crowd followed after Him to Capernaum. In their conversation Jesus said to them, “I am the bread of life; whoever comes to me shall not hunger, and whoever believes in me shall never thirst” (John 6:35). But the Jews grumbled at this claim, so Jesus pressed further.

“Truly, truly, I say to you, unless you eat the flesh of the Son of Man and drink his blood, you have no life in you. Whoever feeds on my flesh and drinks my blood has eternal life, and I will raise him up on the last day. For my flesh is true food, and my blood is true drink. Whoever feeds on my flesh and drinks my blood abides in me, and I in him. (John 6:53–56)

We do this by faith at the Lord’s Table. Is God pleased with you due to your abilities? Of course not, so come and eat Christ’s flesh. Does God forgive your sins by sacrifices you’ve made? Never, so come and drink Christ’s blood.

At this Table there is dependence on the Holy One of God. In Him alone is eternal life.